78 rpm Records

Old 03-21-2012, 05:52 PM

Default 78 rpm Records

We've been cleaning out our storage area and I came across many 78 rpm records that had belonged to my father. There are many well-known names such as Tommy Dorsey, Benny Goodman, some Al Jolson, even a Gene Autry. I want to keep a few but really want to get rid of most of them. I've been carting these things around for over 30 years!

Has anyone had any experience in selling these? The little bit of research I've done it looks like they aren't worth that much.
Old 03-21-2012, 06:29 PM
Power Poster

I think the easiest way to price them is to go to eBay, search on "78 rpm records", and then click on "completed listings". That way you can see what individual records have actually sold for. Aside from condition, individual records vary widely in price depending on what exactly they are. For example, a 78 rpm Johnny Cash record sold for $38 on eBay recently.

Condition is everything with records. If these have been stored in a non-climated-controlled area for years, they may be warped or scratched, in which case they will have little or no value. If they are in mint condition, then the research on eBay is worthwhile; you may have a few rare ones that are worth selling individually.
Old 03-22-2012, 04:01 AM

I think you will find the ones with the well known names are not worth much. Rare R&B discs are more what collectors are looking for.
Old 03-22-2012, 05:43 PM

I would do some research before you get rid of anything. My son is always searching for vinyls, especially of jazz players.
Don't just dump them. Try to make some money OR art. If you find they aren't worth much, you can put them on the wall for decoration. Or use the album covers for art.
Old 03-22-2012, 06:18 PM
Power Poster

I was in a flea market today and there was a great big box of 78s marked $1 each. I didn't look through them to see what they were.
Old 03-23-2012, 03:59 AM