Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 10 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 95

Thread: colonoscopies - agree or disagree and opinions on the prep

  1. #1
    Senior Member Butterfli19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Seacoast New Hampshire
    Posts
    963
    I hope this is okay to post here.

    After all I have read I'm still not convinced this is beneficial. The procedure can cause complications and the prep can be harmful to kidneys and cause major dehydration. Since they recommend every 10 years what happens in between?

    I'm interested in your opinions, comments, and factual info you may have. I do have one scheduled but am debating on keeping the appt.

    Also, am I the only one that disagrees with this? Do we need to have every test they recommend?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    866
    I disagree with having colonoscopies--unless there is a reason, and Doc is trying to find the problem. I don't believe in random tests.

  3. #3
    Super Member raptureready's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5,305
    The only way any of us are going to make it out of this world alive is to be ready when the Lord comes again. If He doesn't come in our lifetime then we ARE going to die. Why worry about it? No, I don't do the random, "just because" testing.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,963
    Blog Entries
    2
    I had one two years ago. I had no complications with the prep or with the test.
    The prep taste etc is worse then the actual test.
    Whether to have one or not is up to you, but I think it is a good idea for if they do find anything they can catch it early.
    If there is any family history of colon issues I would definitely have it done.

  5. #5
    bj
    bj is offline
    Super Member bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    3,475
    My doctor recommended one. I told him not happening. There is no history of colon problems in my family and I have no pain or issues that would indicate a problem. He said at my age (60), I should have one. I still said no. My sil has one regularly, as she does have issues that need monitoring.

  6. #6
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    My doc is trying to send me for one of these!! :shock: My neighbor is a GI so I called him. Read Dave Barry's colonscopy blog and LMAO!! Still haven't set-up an appt though.

    Just not a good thought!! :lol: :lol:

  7. #7
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,193
    I had one when I was havingsome issues. My galbladder was bad, but they sent me through all these tests....the TEST itself wasnt bad, the prep was horrid! NEVER AGAIN, lol!

  8. #8
    Super Member Maride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,883
    I don't believe a colonoscopy is a random test. Many people could have problems without being aware of it and only been discovered when the test is done. Do you have a mammogram every year? A pap smear? I know these test are a lot less invasive, but only when someone is diagnosed with colon cancer do they wish they had the test done before it was too late. Is done every 5 or 10 years because many colon cancers grow slowly. If you search around the internet you will find tons of information and opinions on why not to do it, but even much more on why is it beneficial to you. It could save your life.

  9. #9
    Super Member Butterflyspain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Torrox, Andalucia, Southern Spain
    Posts
    9,534
    I have to disagree and very strongly. My husband has just died from Colon Cancer. This is an extremely slow growing type of cancer. It can be picked up before its too late. The symptoms come very near the end when time is of the essence and sometimes it is just not picked up as its very like IBS. Let me just say many people die from this cancer because they donīt get tested. I know the test ts not pleasant but believe me the alternative is horrendous, take the test please. Colon cancer can take 15 years to develop and starts of with polyps which my or may not become cancerous. Now I will let you all think on that one.

    Elle

  10. #10
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,472
    I had one at so the doctor could get a baseline. I think it's a good idea. My little trick for avoiding that huge bottle of prep was to eat very little the day before the prep.
    I cleaned out much faster :D I wouldn't worry about dehydration. As for what to do in 10 years?? I tend to think I won't worry about it unless I have any weird symptoms.If something runs in your family I think tests are the prudent way to go. I also think that we can over-test but it's not always the doc's fault. Malpractice suits have changed everything. Bottom line- it's up to you. Having said this I believe we must be responsible for our bodies and not rely on fate.
    Glad you brought up this topic. Good luck!
    Hugs, Sue RN

Page 1 of 10 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.