Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: does anyone know anything about PEONIES

  1. #1
    Super Member mimom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    chesterfield, mi
    Posts
    1,621
    my SIL has 2 peonie plants that only have one bud each again this year, these are quite large plants. She has another plant in a different bed with the same sun exposure that is going great. What could be the problem

  2. #2
    Senior Member Opal Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    871
    I'm not sure what the problem is but I do know that peonies need ants.

  3. #3
    a regular here
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    So. Ea. Ind.
    Posts
    1,332
    Poor soil. She probable needs to ammend the soil.

  4. #4
    Super Member mimom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    chesterfield, mi
    Posts
    1,621
    that was my first thought but these dont even have buds for the ants to feed on...all leaves 1 bud

  5. #5
    Super Member mimom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    chesterfield, mi
    Posts
    1,621
    Quote Originally Posted by S D G
    Poor soil. She probable needs to ammend the soil.
    got any recommendations

  6. #6
    Super Member quiltinghere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NW IN
    Posts
    3,411
    Blog Entries
    1
    It could be the soil, it could be the depth it's planted. Has she been pruning the non-blooming one at all? She may be prunning off at the wrong time.

    Is she top dressing the plant (adding soil and making in fact deeper than it was)? Side dress peonies only.

    Is the clump too large? Does it need to be divided?

    I'll watch for more ideas as this is my second year of transplanted peonie sections. I clipped off the 2 blooms that formed last year in hopes that the energy would go directly to the plant.

    ETA I found this website - looks like it's full of helpful information. I'm going to recheck my depth tomorrow and remove the layer of mulch I have on top of the plant.

    http://www.weekendgardener.net/peren...ony-100810.htm

    It says too much nitrogen causes plants to leaf and not flower. use a 10-20-20 fertilizer

  7. #7
    Super Member bamamama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Madison, AL
    Posts
    2,016
    I've heard that you should put your ashes from the fireplace where the peonies are planted. (After it has cooled for course) Not sure if it is true.

  8. #8
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,417
    Blog Entries
    20
    Mine was planted too deep and did not bloom until I moved it and it wasn't planted as deep.

  9. #9
    Super Member MissM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,552
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bamamama
    I've heard that you should put your ashes from the fireplace where the peonies are planted. (After it has cooled for course) Not sure if it is true.
    When I was a kid growing up my dad did this and his peonies always had tons of huge blooms.


    PS....you can only move peonies in the fall of the year. If you move them any other time, they will die.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,237
    Check with Park Seed co., in Greenwood, S.C. They have a web site. I have asked them many questions and always get a quick response.
    Just looking at their web site is fun, so many beautiful plants.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.