Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: "Gotcha" got me

  1. #1
    Senior Member oldtnquiltinglady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Lafayette, TN
    Posts
    881
    Blog Entries
    7

    "Gotcha" got me

    OOOOOOOOOOH, I am fuming this morning. The "geeks" got me this morning--or at least tried to hit our credit card.

    DH just called me from the bank asking if I had bought anything from the UK lately. THEY tried to hit our credit card for a big amount, and because it is protected some way, their purchase was refused, but our bank let us know that they had attempted it.

    And I know that it is my fault. Lately, I have been getting warnings that "your computer is slow" "add our free program and upload so and so" and since it said free, I did it.

    WRONG. In two days my computer screen is inundated with "programs you need to load to clean up your computer", still free. And yesterday, the note "hurry, let me load such and such for $21.95"--and my temper went through the roof. I KNEW IT, and immediately called my SIL to come over here and get rid of all this junk. Now he's mad at me.

    And I can't even get my computer to open up without all that junk warning me, and I need this, and I need that, and saying that it is free......take my advice and don't fall for it.
    Make every day count for something!

    JoAnn

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    2,598
    Try uploading mozilla firefox if you don't already use that with ad block. You can also go into your add/remove programs and delete the pests that way.

  3. #3
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    5,219
    Quote Originally Posted by NJ Quilter View Post
    Try uploading mozilla firefox if you don't already use that with ad block. You can also go into your add/remove programs and delete the pests that way.
    yes, go into add/remove programs and delete any that were added in the last few days. Hopefully that will work, but it may not and you will have to take it to an expert.

    Let this be a warning to EVERYONE - do NOT click on any popups, even to close them. Go in to Task Manager and close them from there.

    No one is giving away anything good for free on the internet.

  4. #4
    Senior Member kuntryquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Crossville, TN
    Posts
    947
    Blog Entries
    6
    I never, ever download anything to my computer that just pops up and says free. Lesson learned.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    721
    So sorry this happened to you. Thanks for sharing your experience as a warning to others. Good luck with getting rid of this!

  6. #6
    Senior Member quiltingeileen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    846
    Thanks for the heads up. Hopeful your SIL has cleaned it up.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lebanon Missouri
    Posts
    2,327
    Blog Entries
    1
    You can also do a 'Restore' to before you up loaded the ''free'' headaches. I 'd go back a couple of weeks and then go to the add/delete programs to make sure they are all gone. My son has Avast on my computer and they do have a free download and even if you buy the program it is very reasonable. It has kept bugs and viruses away from me. Also have Mozilla FireFox which is also a free download. My son and DIL make their living fixing computers so they know what is and isn't harmful.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,966
    I use Chrome and never get pop ups. If a website is questionable, I get a warning before being directed to the site.

    I doubt the free program gathered your credit info unless you entered it as a requirement to get it free. If you do have to fill out a form use fake info. Why do so many think they have to use real info when registering for something online?
    I love my life!

  9. #9
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    1,833
    I, too, doubt the scam on your computer was connected to the scam on your credit card. Unfortunately, you just got hit on two sides at the same time!

  10. #10
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    4,423
    Blog Entries
    1
    [QUOTE=Onebyone;6892350]I use Chrome and never get pop ups. If a website is questionable, I get a warning before being directed to the site.

    Nice thing about a Mac, if you try to go to a questionable site, you get a warning that the site is suspect, all you do is click the "get me out of here" button.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results are your fault. Change is the wings you give yourself.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.