Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: private message question

  1. #1
    Super Member kriscraft99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    3,249
    If I delete a private message from my inbox, can I still go to a members name and click "messages to/messages from" and see the message?

    Kris

  2. #2
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,485
    Blog Entries
    10
    My understanding is once you hit delete it is gone, when I have emptied my messages before once they are gone- they are gone - but you can double check with Admin just to be sure.

  3. #3
    Super Member sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    playing with fabric in Louisiana
    Posts
    3,024
    I don't know, but I'll send you a test pm for you to try. :)

  4. #4
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    5,019
    no, once you delete them they are gone forever.

  5. #5
    Super Member kriscraft99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    3,249
    You are right! Sweet sent me a message, I deleted it, then when I click on her user name and then clicked "messages to/from".. it is gone... darn it! I wanted to clear out my inbox but my memory is not good - I like to be able to use the "messages to/from" link to see past conversations.

    Thank you for answering my question.

    Quote Originally Posted by ptquilts
    no, once you delete them they are gone forever.

  6. #6
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    8,875
    i don't think you can go into another person's private message area and see any of their messages. that would kind of defeat the purpose of ' private=messages'
    when you delete it it's gone, but you could contact the other person and ask them to send it to you again

  7. #7
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,114
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by kriscraft99
    If I delete a private message from my inbox, can I still go to a members name and click "messages to/messages from" and see the message?

    Kris
    That function is only good for searching messages that are actually/visibly in your Inbox or Sent messages.
    Once you delete a message it is gone :D:D:D

  8. #8
    Super Member kriscraft99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    3,249
    Okay - that explains why when I delete it, it is gone - thank you for turning my lightbulb on in my head :thumbup:

    now the question is... is there a limit to keeping messages?

    Quote Originally Posted by amma
    Quote Originally Posted by kriscraft99
    If I delete a private message from my inbox, can I still go to a members name and click "messages to/messages from" and see the message?

    Kris
    That function is only good for searching messages that are actually/visibly in your Inbox or Sent messages.
    Once you delete a message it is gone :D:D:D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.