Hello

Old 07-29-2007, 10:03 AM
Power Poster

I am new to the quilting world and stumbled across this website in my internet ramblings. Everyone seems so friendly and nice. :)
I live in WA state, am retired, and finally have the time to learn how to quilt. I am a little intimidated yet to start my first quilt,( I have only done a few 9 patch mini quilts so far ) and have so many different ideas that I do not know where to start!
I am a fabric and notions junky, :oops: on a recent trip to visit my son in KY I asked him about quilt shops and bless his heart he had done some inquiring and I came home with a bag of fabric and a new book, LOL.
My grandkids go home in 3 days and I am going to start cutting out my first lap quilt. I guess the key must be to just jump in with both feet and do it. :lol:
Old 07-29-2007, 10:53 AM

Amma,
I retired in 'o1 and after we moved I started quilting. I basically taught myself how to quilt and then took a couple of classes to fill in what I missed. :lol: My sister lives in Seattle and I was up there visitingfor two weeks this spring. I mailed home 5 priority boxes of fabric. Fabric shopping is so much fun! (especially for us fabric-a-holics!)
Don't be intimidated just jump on in. You have found a wonderful world to be retired in! Trust me!!! If you have any questions just post them and you will find lots and lots of answers. Everyone on this site is so nice about helping!
Again, Welcome to the world of quilting.
Old 07-29-2007, 12:25 PM
Power Poster