Hello!!!

Old 08-04-2016, 09:11 AM

Default Hello!!!

I’m in California, and I’m very very new to everything. After deciding to teach myself to quilt (my local sewing shops aren’t offering any classes until September, and I want to get going NOW), I’ve been reading as much as I can online and watching videos etc. So glad to have found this board!

I bought a Janome Magnolia 7318 last month and have been setting up a sewing room. I’ve laid in a lot of basic supplies, including two extra Janome presser feet – a walking foot, and the clear presser foot with 2 metal flanges for ¼” and stitch-in-the-ditch seaming. My sweet husband helped me make a sewing table so my machine sits flush with the table top (an IKEA hack idea I found online).

I bought a quilt kit (60” x 60”), and have made it through the cutting, sewing, backing, sandwiching/pin basting stages without much trouble (yay – it’s so relaxing and fun!). I will mark it tonight, and will hopefully get it quilted this weekend.