Introduction

Old 02-06-2008, 08:06 AM

Hi, I have been a wall flower or a while - reading the main letter in my email but not posting anything so thought that since I was feeling pretty good today that I would take the time and introduce myself.

I am a self taught quilter. I learned to sew almost before I could walk but quilting wasn't introduced to my life till I was older - way older. I saw my husband's Grandmothers quilts and wanted one for myself but when I checked out the price to buy a handmade quilt I quickly decided that I had to do this myself.

I had to wait till I retired though to start as I was in the USAF and traveled all over the world - worked shift work which is not conducive to taking a class or really getting involved in anything that takes a lot of time.

So I waited till I was back in the states for good and started teaching myself to quilt. That was about 7 years ago now and I am a quiltoholic, a fabriholic, a threadaholic...I am hooked...line and sinker.

I love to make different quilts - I don't like making the same one twice so am always doing something new. I am an absolute fan of Beth Ferrier and have learned so much from making her quilts and doing her BOM each year.

Last year I made raw edge applique quilts but in my house the quilts are used constantly so therefore get washed a lot so all my raw edges were meticulously satin stitched down...hours of meditation at the sewing machine.

My lastest endeavor is to teach myself to machine quilt my own quilts - I have tons of tops to practice on and hopefully will become proficient at it. I made my grand daughter her first alphabet quilt and did all the quilting myself on my machine and think it is coming along great. I designed and made the quilt top myself with embroidered blocks - put her name in blocks across the top. I think I did okay but am going to try and do better as I go.