Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
janome sewing machine >

janome sewing machine

janome sewing machine

Old 12-22-2007, 07:36 PM

Hi! I am new to the Message Board and basically new to Quilting. I have hand quilted small projects and started on a quilt for our bed, however, it hasn't been completed yet. I need to purchace a new sewing machine and would like an opinion on the Janome sewing machines. I want something easy to use and also the option of doing embroidery with the machine if I should choose. Any ideas? Thanks, MiMi DeeDee
Old 12-22-2007, 09:34 PM

I've heard great things about Janome, and recently bought the Sears version made by them. All the Janome owners I spoke to were pleased with their machines. I had NO luck with Singers, and Brothers are getting a bad reputation. Sit down and try the machines. Ask questions - what accessories are included? If you are able, it is better to buy a better machine, as over its lifetime, your sewing needs may grow and change.

It all comes down to what will fit your needs and what you can afford. This time of year, you may want to ask for price protection, in case it goes on sales after the new year, and make sure they will refund you the difference.
Old 12-23-2007, 08:10 AM

Hi MiMi. Welcome to the board! I've had my Janome 6600MC for a year now, and she's my new best friend. They're a very sturdy machine and I've had no problems at all. I agree with everything Moonpi wrote. Find a local dealer with classes, it's the best thing to give you peace of mind. After all, it's a big investment! By embroidery, do you mean sewing the crazy-quilt type stitches by machine? Or the bigger embroidery patterns you can get as downloads, etc?
Old 12-23-2007, 03:16 PM