Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   crazy quilter (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/crazy-quilter-t105368.html)

sueandsew 03-06-2011 05:42 AM

I'm new to site....a frustrated, self-taught quilter. Have made several, and struggled w/most of them. I'm now making a quilt for a middle aged man, pattern is 10 in. squares of diagonal strips alternating w/plain brown 10 in. squares. (sort of checkerboard pattern). Does anyone have suggestions for the actual quilting stitching on the diagonal strip squares and the solid brown squares?

erstan947 03-06-2011 05:50 AM

I'm not much help in the quilting dept. Just wanted to welcome you to the board. The current baby quilt I'm working on, I quilting in the ditch with a decorative stitch. That is about as daring as I get:)

sueandsew 03-06-2011 05:56 AM

Thanks a bunch erston! The first baby quilt I ever made, I quilted in a straight, diamond pattern on my old Kenmore sewing machine. In time, a lot of the stitches popped. Since then I've done hand quilting...a slow, enjoyable and relaxing process. Maybe someone else will have a pattern for me.

Lori B. 03-06-2011 06:32 AM

Welcome from Michigan. Sorry can't help with the stitching suggestions. I struggle with that too.

sueandsew 03-06-2011 07:04 AM

thanks Lori. It's great to be on here! Many sites are so user unfriendly I can't navigate them so i just give up. This one is fantastic.
Well maybe I didn't state clearly enough what I need. I have some ideas on the quilting stitches...maybe a large Shamrock in the middle of the brown squares,, or a fan pattern, scrolls, etc. but I need to do something that is masculine for this guy. He is paying me to make him this quilt, so I need to do a good job for him. Maybe I'll do straight lines on the strip squares; don't think a pattern would show up. Thanks everyone; you are awesome.