Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Advice - how to pair colors for Framed Square quilt >

Advice - how to pair colors for Framed Square quilt

Advice - how to pair colors for Framed Square quilt

Old 09-16-2015, 07:24 PM

Default Advice - how to pair colors for Framed Square quilt

Hi all! I am making a "framed square" quilt with a jelly roll and charm squares, both from Moda's "Happy Sunshine" pattern. It is for my soon to be new nephew and will be a small baby quilt that they can put in his stroller or lay him on when he is on the floor.

The problem I am having is choosing what colors of strips go with what colors of squares. I have removed the ones with the really large print because none of them look right cut the way that they are cut. But the rest of them... no idea what to do. I tried to randomize it and that didn't look too good. Any tips? A lot of things say to break up the darks and the lights, but I am not really good at figuring out (with a few exceptions) what the orange and green ones are, dark or light, and the checkers...

These are the patterns:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]530932[/ATTACH]

Thanks for any advice you might offer.
Attached Thumbnails fabric.jpg  
Old 09-17-2015, 01:23 AM

I would pair a larger print in one color with a smaller print in another color. I prefer to lay them out in advance of sewing so I don't end up with 2 similar ones at the end of the pile.
Old 09-17-2015, 04:32 AM
Power Poster

If you look at your samples, notice that you have 3 green small prints on the bottom and you have 3 large prints with green background etc. You can either pair the large print in green with the small print in green or do the 3 large prints with green background with the 3 small red background to mix them up.
Old 09-17-2015, 06:15 AM