Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Advice needed... getting (or not) a frame/midarm? >

Advice needed... getting (or not) a frame/midarm?

Advice needed... getting (or not) a frame/midarm?

Old 06-27-2014, 06:54 AM

Default Advice needed... getting (or not) a frame/midarm?

Hi everyone,
For years I sew in a tiny room so didn't even consider getting any other set up than my domestic sewing machine. But I will move in a few weeks in a bigger sewing room. I started playing with the idea of getting a frame/midarm.
For now I have a Juki TL-98 and a Bernina 730 with the BSR. I use the Juki for quilting/stabilizing large area with the walking foot and the Bernina for free motion tiny area.
I'm overall very happy with this set up. BUT I HATE BASTING A QUILT. I have used every tricks given on this forum (thanks everyone) to ease the process, but still, it`s a pain! I don't really have the floor space to do it and always have to squeeze between furniture.
Also, I dreaming of being able to do some larger scale quilting (the harp size of the Bernina is too small for doing this smootly).
Would getting a frame help me with the basting process? Is it easier to load a quilt on a frame instead of pinning/gluing it?
I live in an area where finding a gently used setup is impossible. No dealer where to try a longarm setup either (the only one available is the HQ Sweet Sixteen sit down, and you still have to baste your quilt)
I'm going to New York soon with my car; it could be an occasion to bring back a frame/quilting machine. Should I by a frame to put my Juki on it? Should I look for a midarm combo? Only the Bailey/Block rock it would be within my price range (I have to pay import taxes, so a 3000$ cost me at least 500$ more...)
Any thoughts/advice on the subject will be welcomed!
Old 06-27-2014, 07:34 AM
Power Poster