Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Another best machine question >

Another best machine question

Another best machine question

Old 04-26-2011, 04:50 AM

Folks, I know there have been MANY threads on which machine is best. I want to be more specific and ask which machine would you consider to be good for light quilting (I only quilt some for myself) that is not terribly expensive. I can't spend over $500 on a machine right now. I have a Brother from Wal Mart that does a pretty good job for sewing/ piecing. I would like to have more space (to accomodate a quilt better) and a little heavier machine, though. My daughter has a Pfaff that I have used and like. I am just learning to machine quilt and I think I will enjoy doing it. I feel that I need a heavier duty machine for that, though. My Brother is very light and even tends to move around on me sometimes. I would like to get a good machine that will last a long time without spending a fortune! Any help would be appreciated. I know there are lots of opinions and I WILL go try out some machines at a local dealer. It would just be nice to have some ideas before I go.
Old 04-26-2011, 05:53 AM

A used Bernina might fall within that price range. Bernina machines are known for beautiful stitches, especially for FMQ. I have a big Janome and bought a used Bernina specifically to do FMQ and it does excellent work.

A Bernina 150, 155, 165, those are the models that might fall into your price range and they do excellent FMQ. You'll have to ask a dealer or check on eBay to see what they look like and what they might be going for there.
Old 04-26-2011, 06:31 AM

I have the Brother 1500S. It has a 9 inch throat which is wonderful. Most of the machine is metal and it feels very sturdy on the table. It does not move. Brand new it's about $750 with all the extras --- several feet, extension table, etc. I wouldn't be surprised if you could find a gently used one in your price range.
Old 04-26-2011, 06:33 AM