Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Any Viking Sapphire owners out there?

  1. #1
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    6,653
    Blog Entries
    3
    I just bought a Viking Sapphire 830 to replace my old Viking. I was wondering if anyone experienced it being tempermental about certain brands/types of thread. I was tinkering around with mine and it doesn't seem to like the Signature varigated I have. I was going to use it to finish up a quilt I'm working on, but now I might need to come up with a new plan for that particular project. I never had this issue with my old Viking; it worked great no matter what thread I used.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,396
    What exactly is happening? I have a Viking Platinum 755 Quilt, the predecessor to the Sapphire. PittsburghPam has a Sapphire. Maybe, she has some suggestions.

  3. #3
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    6,653
    Blog Entries
    3
    the top thread looks fine, but the bobbin thread is bunching up - and once it gets going it looks like long eyelashes on the backside. i've rethreaded a few times, then gave up for awhile. it was working fine when i had coats & clark dual duty thread in it. nice (fairly) even stitches on the front and back with no or very small "eyelashes". i have an appt with the dealer tomorrow. i'll bring it with me and see what advice i get from her too.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,396
    The only thread I can think of, which might cause that problem with a new machine is Hand Quilting thread. It has a wax coating on it and would gum up the works in the machine.

  5. #5
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,103
    I have the Sapphire 830 and found only coat n clarks works. None of the more expensive threads would work for me either.
    You do have to use the green bobbins, dont use any others.
    I finally found out how to set the 1/4 inch when I took it in for a cleaning.
    The button on the right with the ziz zag symble then arrow to the 1/4 inch.
    Then I move the needle to 3.0 to get a scant 1/4 in.

  6. #6
    RochesterQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    I have a Viking Sapphire, too. During the owner's classes, the ladies said over and over never to use Coats and Clark, but one of my classmates did and it wound around the presser foot from the top and bobbin thread and broke the foot in half - no joke, it broke an acrylic foot in half!! Needless to say, I never tried Coats and Clark. I usually use Guterman and I only have regular, user error issues.

  7. #7
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,103
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.
    I have never had a problem with it.
    The cone threads keep breaking on me or leaving loops on the bottom.
    I did find the cones work better if I leave the holder horizontal not upright.
    Im trying to use them up since I bought a few of them.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.

  8. #8
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    6,653
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.
    I have never had a problem with it.
    The cone threads keep breaking on me or leaving loops on the bottom.
    I did find the cones work better if I leave the holder horizontal not upright.
    Im trying to use them up since I bought a few of them.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.
    What do you mean the one with the pop up top? Can you post a picture or link? I usually get Coats & Clark Dual Duty.

  9. #9
    RochesterQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.
    Excellent distinction, between the cheap and the good stuff. This was the cheap C&C and it probably was a freak accident that they used to their advantage. It worked on me, though I only bought their thread one time - three spools. The first two were lovely, and the third was irregular with little thread lumps that got stuck in the machine and needle. - likely another fluke, but I never bought it again! :D

  10. #10
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,103
    Look at the top of the spool and pull it up. If it is a pop top it will come in half. It holds the thread in place on a new spool instead of the little cut the cheaper spools have.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.