Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Appliqued Baby Quilt >

Appliqued Baby Quilt

Appliqued Baby Quilt

Old 10-17-2010, 10:03 AM

I'm new to applique and am trying to make a butterfly baby quilt. I've made the template to iron the extra allowance so that it will keep raw edges underneath. However, there is a body to these things and I feel like I need eight hands to get all this pressed under. There must be an easier way?? Please? There's eighteen of them and I've fought my way through six so far. Love the quilt, but do not think I'll ever make another like it at this point!!
Old 10-17-2010, 11:12 AM

You can make card board templates, minus the seam allowances, out of cereal boxes. Then lay them down on your peaces & iron the seams over the card board. Or you can use used dryer sheets & sew the peaces to it & snip the middle of the dryer sheet & turn right side out & press. They are much easier to applique down.
Old 10-17-2010, 11:24 AM

Originally Posted by Halo
You can make card board templates, minus the seam allowances, out of cereal boxes. Then lay them down on your peaces & iron the seams over the card board. Or you can use used dryer sheets & sew the peaces to it & snip the middle of the dryer sheet & turn right side out & press. They are much easier to applique down.
That's the way I will try on my next one, but I just used a soft fusible on my first and then feather stitched the pieces down, by machine. I don't hand stitch too well.LOL
Old 10-17-2010, 11:30 AM