Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: around the world pattern

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    I AM STARTING ON A KING SIZE QUILT FOR SON, HAVE PATTERN FOR A TWIN SIZE. WHAT IS BEST WAY TO INCREASE? MAKE SQUARES A LITTLE LARGER AND ADD MORE TO TOP AND SIDES? ANY SUGGESTIONS MUCH APPRECIATED. THANKS!

  2. #2
    gaumy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    142
    I just add more squares and add more borders...but I don't know if anyone else does this...

  3. #3
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,347
    I would add the extra blocks needed instead of increasing the block size. Just measure how big the blocks are and then divide the width and legnth of desired size by the block size and you will get the number of blocks needed. Of course border size will reduce the amount of blocks.

    Welcome from Southern California!

  4. #4
    Super Member justwannaquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Union, Missouri
    Posts
    1,576
    Welcome to the board!
    When I want to add size I normally add more blocks, but if I am decreasing size I normally do a little bit of both unless they are smaller blocks then I just decrease the number of blocks!

  5. #5
    Senior Member CindyBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    740
    I would do as others suggested and just add more blocks, perhaps increase the border size. I really like an 8 or 12 in block for most quilts. What size block does the twin quilt call for?

  6. #6
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    I do the same. Just increase the number of blocks.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY - I AM MAKING 4" SQUARES AND WILL ADD WHAT IS NECESSARY, DIDN'T REALIZE I NEED 120X120 - EEKK!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.