Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Aurora 440QEE & Vista

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    53
    Hi Everyone!

    I have a question for all you Bernina & Vista users......Do you have problems with the download speed of the embroidery design from EC on PC to the 440?

    After 2+ hours of trying to get the software to work and finally getting it to work it took another 20 minutes or so to download a very simple NAME to the sewing machine to embroider. Is this a common problem with the 440 & the Vista OS?

    My laptop is only 4 months old and it came with Vista, I emailed Gateway tonight to see if I could get downgraded to XP and the tech told me no it would void all my warranties and the laptop wouldn't work, so now I am unsure what to do next?

    Your thoughts/experiences would be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    I do not know about this specific problem, but in the past when I had issues with a new/newer computer I called the manufacturer and had them help me solve it. They had the capapbility to take over my computer remotely, and they dug around until they found the problems, while I sat and watched what they were doing on my monitor. They explained on the phone what they were doing, looking for and why. Maybe Gateway can do that for you, the way HP did for me?

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    Another thought is are you using dial up? Or do you have a lot of other programs running while you were trying to download the embroidery design? Some lap tops will run slower than a pc. You could ask Gateway about this too.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    53
    Thanks amma....tried talking with Gateway and they say they can't help. I have emailed my complaint to them. I would love to go back to XP which works great with the Brenina software but Gateway says I can't do that and it will void my warranties.

    So now I wait for more suggestions :(

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    west tenn
    Posts
    146
    a computer place where i take my computer to that had to do some work on my laptop told me that i could not use the vista on my embroidery machine i have a brother 2500 she said that i would have to use my xp i dont know anything about the vista . the lady told me it was something that you would have to get use to thanks dorothy from tenn

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    northern New England
    Posts
    460
    I don't have a sewing machine problem, but I do have a computer with Vista. As I understand it, a lot of software is not yet compatible with it. I think you should see if Bernina has a download that is Vista compatible yet, and, if not, when they think they will get it done. There is nothing Gateway can do for you, it has to be from Bernina's end of things. All the manuafacturers are working on this because they are losing business every day they delay their upgrades. Good luck to you.

  7. #7
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,852
    If you have you already tried the Vista compatability tool, then you're at the mercy of the people who designed your software. The ones I have to use prefer to sell a new-improved Vista-ready package than provide a fix. Lotsa $$$$$

    I have to laugh at the Mac commercial that points out that Vista users are swarming back to XP. I'm pretty much at that point myself. The home version seems to have been tested only with Microsoft software.

    Microsoft designed backwards compatability into every other product. Did Bill Gates really believe he would run out of money if he did that with Vista, too?

    There is another thread here if you want to hear other people's Vista experiences.

  8. #8
    Senior Member hokieappmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    746
    You can have XP loaded onto your computer, and it should work fine. I bough my son a laptop with Vista and he couldn't stand it. A local computer guy did it for me and only charged $75.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    53
    I could have XP loaded on my laptop but it voids the warranty provided by Gateway.

    I finally got it to work, it does take a few extra minutes to send it to the PC than on an XP system but it is something I can deal with and if I really need it faster I can always move my machine to the kitchen.
    :D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.