Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 11 of 26 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 21 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 255

Thread: Automatic threader

  1. #101
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,240
    I have some visually problems and absolutely love having this feature. And now, would not want to be without it.

    ditto to the suggestions!!

    Another hint that hasn't been mentioned ...... be sure your needle is in the "home" position, meaning the position it is at when you turn the machine on. That's where the threader is set to line up ... just as it needs the needle in the up position.

    Many of us move the needle for various reasons ... and no, the threader will not work when the needle is not in it's auto-position.

    Once you figure it out, you too will be in love with this feature!

  2. #102
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    nebraska little west of Omaha
    Posts
    111
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sheck the size of your needle. Mine wouldnt work for me until I read the instructions that said donly works with needles 80 and lager. No problems since. Imagine that!

  3. #103
    Member Kimarene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Paradise, CA
    Posts
    24
    Hi from Kimarene from Paradise, California. I'm a new quilter and have been lurking every day to read the quilting board digest, which I really enjoy.

    I wanted to respond to your question, because I, too, had much difficulty learning to use the needle threader on my Janome 1860 machine. My problem was that I was holding the tail of the thread too tightly and the thread would break and not go through the needle eye. Once this was pointed out to me, I loosened my grip on the thread and voila! thread through needle!

    One thing I have noticed is that not all needles work with this feature. I don't know exactly why. In these cases, I just thread by hand (which is getting harder to do every year!).

  4. #104
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Hermantown. MN
    Posts
    16
    I have the same problem!

  5. #105
    Senior Member SandySews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    346
    I use mine ALL the time. I have a Bernina 153 and 440. I'm not sure I could actually thread the needle myself now.

  6. #106
    Senior Member Lisa Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hackettstown, NJ
    Posts
    851
    I use my all the time, could not thread the needle without it!

  7. #107
    Super Member fabric_fancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    at my sewing machine
    Posts
    1,976
    i use mine all the time - i won't even buy a machine if it doesn't have one.

    i have many vintage singers and i don't use them for this reason.

  8. #108
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    southern Michigan
    Posts
    227
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Designer 2 and it isn't easy for me either. But my new Janome 6500 is a dream! Guess they are not the same on all brands.

  9. #109
    Super Member grannypat7925's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Posts
    5,451
    I use mine all the time. Have to be sure the needle is in the highest position.

  10. #110
    Super Member Happy Linda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Port Ludlow, WA
    Posts
    1,273
    Blog Entries
    4
    Always.

Page 11 of 26 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 21 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.