Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Baby lock >

Baby lock

Baby lock

Old 04-12-2011, 05:07 PM

I presently have 2 old sewing machines ( a Capital purchased in 1965 and a Kenmore Purchased in 1985). Now that I've started quilting and have a beautiful sewing space, i would like a better machine...nothing too fancy. I'm looking at Baby Locks from local dealer.

My choices:
Audrey (A-line series) about $300 (very portable)
Grace " about $400
Sofia 2 " $650
Elizabeth $800 (most fancy stitches)

I really like Crazy quilting using fancy machine stitches
but embroidery is intriguing.

Anyone have one of these more basic Baby Locks and have any suggestions.

Remember I'm just beginning and can graduate to a more advanced machine at a later date.

Thanks so much for any suggestions and help.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:13 PM

We purchased a Grace last fall. It was intended for my 13 yo DD, but now that she is in school her sewing time is virtually non-existant. I, however, have been using it ;) and am quite pleased with it. DD will be using it this summer. So far its been a good machine!
Old 04-12-2011, 05:14 PM

I have the Sophia (not 2) and it's a nice little machine. I got it to do quilt labels with. So far I haven't made any but it sews nice.

I think you could probably get a better price if you watch for a sale. I know I've seen them for less at my dealer.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:18 PM

I have a Baby Lock Ellure. It's about eight years old. I love it.
Old 04-12-2011, 05:20 PM