Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Backing >

Backing

Backing

Old 02-13-2013, 08:27 PM

Default Backing

I am new to quilting. I have just finished my second easy quilt. I am having trouble keeping backing tight. I pinned my quilt sandwich with a lot of pins, while it was clamped to large piece of plywood. But I am still getting big wrinkles when I stitch it. Any suggestions on this?
Old 02-13-2013, 08:45 PM

lately I've been using the wall to sandwich my quilts. I pin the backing to the wall, spray the 505, stick the batting, spray the batting and stick the top. If when attaching the batting and top I feel any wrinkles, I remove and try again. The 505 allows you to re-position the fabric. I found this method great because I don't have to do it on the floor anymore.
I tried also on a table doing by sections and that is fine when the quilt is not too big but my preferred method is the wall. I found it on a u-tube.
here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwV8tUkhxUM
andrea
Old 02-13-2013, 08:57 PM
Power Poster

Are you hand quilting or machine quilting? I like to use my floor q-snap frame for hand quilting and it does a good job. For machine quilting I use Hobbs 80/20 fusible quilt batt or 505 spray basting instead of pins. I never had much luck with pinning a sandwich to quilt. There are some that use Elmer's washable school glue to bast but I haven't tried it yet. There is a good tutorial on QB if you want to see how it's done.
Old 02-13-2013, 09:45 PM
Power Poster

Spray basting with 505 is a lot easier than pinning, and it actually does a better job because it keeps all 3 layers of the quilt sandwich in continuous contact. Pins establish contact only every 4 inches or so. (I prefer to spray baste on a table. I cannot get down and up from the floor easily, and my arms get too tired working on a wall.)