Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Bah! I knew I should have pinned my border!!!

  1. #1
    Senior Member momto4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Wausau WI GO PACK!!!
    Posts
    768
    Blog Entries
    1
    i was sewing my border on my quilt and got done and went to iron and it was all wonky and puckered. I thought about pinning it first but thought naw i can do it. So I spent the evening with the stitch ripper! No more shortcuts lol. Do ya'll always pin before sewing?

  2. #2
    Super Member Leota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,623
    Yes. For that very reason. Sometimes I will hand baste so that it doesnt have a chance to move.
    Sorry that you had to rip all that work out...

  3. #3
    Super Member Marcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,561
    I don't pin when I am sewing sections together for my blocks, but when I am sewing LONG seams, like sashings and borders I always pin.

  4. #4
    Super Member LucyInTheSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,786
    I said "I don't need to pin", got awful messiness, and always overpin now. The seam ripping parts annoys me so it's worth the time spent better preparing to sew rather than redoing. Less frustrating too :)

  5. #5
    Super Member LucyInTheSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,786
    If you hear your brain saying "I don't need to pin that, it will turn out fine" - pin. That phrase is the kiss o' death ;)

  6. #6
    Senior Member momto4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Wausau WI GO PACK!!!
    Posts
    768
    Blog Entries
    1
    LOL Lucy you are too funny. Ya'll are right though. It is definitely a mistake I wont make again. I never pin my blocks, but this is the first border I have done that is this large now I know PIN PIN PIN!!! Oh well guess I have more to do in the morning hehe.

  7. #7
    Super Member LucyInTheSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,786
    Quote Originally Posted by momto4
    LOL Lucy you are too funny. Ya'll are right though. It is definitely a mistake I wont make again. I never pin my blocks, but this is the first border I have done that is this large now I know PIN PIN PIN!!! Oh well guess I have more to do in the morning hehe.
    I did a group of blocks today that you're not supposed to pin. You cut on an angle and resew, so the seams won't match up. It took all my will power not to try to force them together.

    I tend to overpin. I can see my not-perfect seams staring at me

  8. #8
    Senior Member magnolia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    CA.
    Posts
    934
    I started off pinning, but kept forgetting about taking the pins out as I fed the material through the machine. After suffering a fairly deep stab wound I decided not to pin anymore. I don't want to bleed on my quilts.

  9. #9
    Bobbinwinder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    481
    If it's 6" or more then I'm usually gonna pin it...that frog stitchin' really spoils my fun. With borders, I find the middles,pinch and pin...then pin each end...then repeat finding the middles of each of those sections,pinch and pin again...however many times it takes to make the body fit the border. Hope that makes sense...I may not have explained it very well...

  10. #10
    Super Member LucyInTheSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,786
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobbinwinder
    If it's 6" or more then I'm usually gonna pin it...that frog stitchin' really spoils my fun. With borders, I find the middles,pinch and pin...then pin each end...then repeat finding the middles of each of those sections,pinch and pin again...however many times it takes to make the body fit the border. Hope that makes sense...I may not have explained it very well...
    I know that's the right way to do it, but I don't have the patience for that. I pin one corner, pin all the way down, trim the border to fit. The pseudo lazy way :D

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.