Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Basting Guns >

Basting Guns

Basting Guns

Old 02-18-2011, 08:01 AM

I need some advice about basting guns. I almost bought one yesterday but thought I would first poll users here for their opinions. Making my "quilt sandwich" and then basting it or pinning it is the hardest part of quilting for me. I wondered if using a basting gun with those little tacks would be easier. I also am exploring machine quilting - nothing fancy; I'm just a beginner. But I also wondered how much those tacks would interfere with that process. Thanks for any light you can shed.
Old 02-18-2011, 08:04 AM

Originally Posted by JustJill
I need some advice about basting guns. I almost bought one yesterday but thought I would first poll users here for their opinions. Making my "quilt sandwich" and then basting it or pinning it is the hardest part of quilting for me. I wondered if using a basting gun with those little tacks would be easier. I also am exploring machine quilting - nothing fancy; I'm just a beginner. But I also wondered how much those tacks would interfere with that process. Thanks for any light you can shed.
I have one. I do not use it. It was more of a pain for me. I use the spray adhesive. seems to work alot better for me. How much was that gun anyways? I would sen dyou mine for shipping if you want it. save you som eof the cost of experimenting. Only thing is I will have to find it. lol.. make sure it didnt get tossed out. lol. was it the little red one with the red tacks?
Old 02-18-2011, 08:09 AM
Power Poster

The only problem I have with basting tacks are trying to move them while I am quilting.
It is easier for me to undo a safety pin and remove it/move it out of my way, then to cut a basting tack and try to get the back of it out from under the quilt so it doesn't get into the bobbin area of my machine. :D:D:D
Old 02-18-2011, 08:11 AM

Have one or had one. Maybe I gave it away. Hated it.
Old 02-18-2011, 08:16 AM