Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Batik Question

I've never used this fabric before.

I don't prewash some fabrics (pre-cuts)

So I know you don't always have to prewash.

I HATE having to iron yards after the prewash.

With Batik, do you HAVE TO prewash?

To wash or not wash, is a personal choice I think...I don't wash.....Cool thing about Batiks..they don't ravel that much...

San

You don't HAVE TO prewash any fabric. Batiks may have more bleeding than some other fabrics, so it is good precaution to pre wash. I prefer to pre wash all my fabric as I purchase it. I fold it straight from the dryer, smoothing it as much as I can. Only ironing it as I need to use it.

Quote Originally Posted by inemmausinn
    I've never used this fabric before.

I don't prewash some fabrics (pre-cuts)

So I know you don't always have to prewash.

I HATE having to iron yards after the prewash.

With Batik, do you HAVE TO prewash?
    It is easy enough to check the fabric for potential bleed problems. simply clip a corner and put it in clear water. I like to use a white Pyrex type custard cup, easier for me to see if color is going into the water with the white background. If the batik bleeds, you will have to prewash, treating with retayne dye fixative.

I'm a pre-washer, so my opinion may be biased, but I always wash batiks. I've had more bleeding problems with them than just about anything else - in fact, a batik in a block I received from someone else in a swap almost ruined the entire quilt when I washed it after I had quilted it. I went through a couple of days of agony trying to resolve the issue, and I've been leery of batiks ever since - but I still love them!

RST
    Blog Entries
    If I do wash, it will be a red or purple batik. I've had those run.