Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Batting Question >

Batting Question

Batting Question

Old 01-28-2010, 10:45 AM

Hi All!!
I'm a beginner quilter about to piece my first quilt together! I bought some warm and natural cotton backing in a queen size. However, when I layed the batting out it was huge, too large for a queen size quilt. Am I suspossed to layer the batting or just cut off the extra fabric? I don't know why there is a king size piece of backing for only a queen. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 01-28-2010, 10:47 AM

You can cut your batt to a couple of inches larger than your quilt... and aftern it is quilted... then you will do the final trimming. The batt you cut off you can use for smaller projects. :mrgreen:
Old 01-28-2010, 10:51 AM
Power Poster

Usually 3 inches bigger all around will give you plenty of wiggle room while you quilt, as well as for your quilt back. :D:D:D
Sounds like you got a "bonus pack" :wink: and you will have enough extra for a table runner or other smaller projects!!!
Old 01-28-2010, 10:54 AM

Haha, thanks I sure did get a bonus pack. Good to know I will just be able to save the extra batting for more projects in the future. Thanks!
Old 01-28-2010, 12:33 PM

Originally Posted by Flymy
Hi All!!
I'm a beginner quilter about to piece my first quilt together! I bought some warm and natural cotton backing in a queen size. However, when I layed the batting out it was huge, too large for a queen size quilt. Am I suspossed to layer the batting or just cut off the extra fabric? I don't know why there is a king size piece of backing for only a queen. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!