Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Beginner Machines >

Beginner Machines

Beginner Machines

Old 06-23-2011, 10:29 PM

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner looking to replace a 12 year old Kenmore sewing machine I have ... my Kenmore has a lot of tension problems--thread is always breaking and I can't seem to adjust it to fix the problem. Plus it's just a basic machine and I'd rather have something a little more modern, maybe something a little more geared towards quilting.

Of course I only have a budget of about $250 and being a beginner I'm not sure I'd want to spend too much money on a machine until I've at least attained "intermediate" status! Having said that, I was considering two different machines:

SINGER 7469Q Confidence Quilter Model Sewing and Quilting Machine

and Brother CS6000i Sew Advance Sew Affordable 60-Stitch Computerized Free-Arm Sewing Machine

Anyone have experience with either of these machines or could perhaps recommend something in my price range? I know that's not a lot of money to spend on a machine but I'm hoping I can find something decent and suited for someone at my level.

Thank you in advance!
Becki
Old 06-23-2011, 10:33 PM

I have the Brother CS-6000 (model before the 6000i) and I've been using it for 6 years. I just yesterday got a Janome 6500 and I have this sinking feeling that maybe I should have just stuck with the Brother cuz I knew how to use it and I'm not sewing as nice right now LOL. It's got a small throat space but other then that it's really nice! I've never had any issues with it at all and has never been in the shop.

I hear really good things about the new Singer Featherweight also. There was a post here tonight where they got it from Joann's online and only spent $230 so you might want to check that out too. Seemed like a sturdier machine that does more...
Old 06-23-2011, 10:58 PM

I am in the market for a new machine also and was thinking of the Singer quilter.

so those of you with this machine tell us all about it.