Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: beginner needs help...grosgrain ribbon?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1
    i am making my very first quilt...ever. its a baby quilt .here's my question... can i use grosgrain ribbon as seam binding and to connect patchwork segments? if not why?
    my grandmother said ok if i wash it first. but i don't see anybody doing this ...is there a reason?...all my fabrics are cotton.
    the pattern i'm following has small 1" strips between the patchwork pieces. but the ribbon is the same size and seems "tougher"...i want them to be able to wash it when needed without it falling apart.

    thank you for all your help and advice.

    beth ann in chattanooga

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    175
    I don't see why not. Just sew as close to the edge as possible.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    There are some very pretty and decorative ribbons available nowadays. I would not trim any of the long edges because of ravelling and you can use something like Fray-Check on the ends to keep those from ravelling also. Over time, those ends could come undone.

  4. #4
    Super Member vicki reno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,948
    Grosgrain ribbon shrinks a lot so be sure to prewash.

  5. #5
    Super Member sewjoyce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9,672
    Grograin ribbon sounds like a good idea! Please post pics when you get top done!

  6. #6
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,389
    Welcome from Southern California. I have never used ribbon in my quilting that was going to be washed, only wall hangings so I can't help you. Someone here will help you, they are all so knowledgable and helpful!!!

  7. #7
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    4,801
    I think that grossgrain ribbon is not 100% cotton ??? if you're going to use a mix in any given project you have to remember to expect the unexpected :-)

  8. #8
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,852
    Ribbon doesn't cost that much - I'd buy a roll, take it off the spool, and wash/dry in a lingerie bag til it gets stable. You should be ok after that.

  9. #9
    Junior Member salisaquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    272
    You would be better off to use the fabric in the quilt to bind .. There would be much puckering and pulling with the heavy grosgrain :( .. You could use it but I believe you would be much happier with self fabric :wink: binding ( easier to work with also)

  10. #10
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    15,603
    How about making a pot-holder or place mat and bind it with the ribbon and throw it in the wash a couple of times.

    I know that making test pieces/samples are kind of a bother, but if it works out well, you still have usable item, and if it's not the best idea one's ever had, one isn't out a whole lot of money and time.

    As some of the others have already said, some ribbons shrink a LOT.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.