Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bernette Reviews?

  1. #1
    Super Member peaceandjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Finger Lakes of upstate NY
    Posts
    2,049
    Having given up on the local Janome dealer for a Jem (which I thought I wanted), I'm now looking at the Bernettes. Does anyone here have one, and what are your thoughts?

    I LOVE my Bernina, but at 25 lbs, it's heavy - not to mention a pain to take out of table, pack up, and return when I come back from class/retreat/sew-ins.

    No need for fancy stitches, buttonholes, etc. The 46 (I think that's the number - black one w/ gold design on it) is available locally for $129.

    I waffle... That's a good bit of fabric... I don't "need" more fabric... What to do?
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-01-2014 at 03:17 AM. Reason: language

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    36
    I have a Bernette serger (334)that is a classic - a great machine. But, I have never read a good review of a Bernette sewing machine. Bernina YES, but not Bernette.
    good luck!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Southeast Connecticut
    Posts
    95
    I bought one last July. I don't remember the model, it was one of the middle of the line ones, but I brought it back almost immediately and got a Janome. I couldn't adjust the tension properly. It was a big headache.

  4. #4
    Super Member peaceandjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Finger Lakes of upstate NY
    Posts
    2,049
    Thank you, gramfel and midwifehc.

    I've also seen some reviews of the Bernette commenting on the tension issues.

    This particular model came out in December; I haven't seen a bad review, but haven't really seen much at all. I know one quilter whose mother bought it and is very happy, but would like to have more than one opinion. Somebody must be buying them - when I did a search on the model, several stores that sell them had comments that they can't keep them in stock.

    Here's a link to the model I'm considering: http://www.berninausablog.com/read/retro-bernette-46

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    36
    I think if you look for "Reviews of Bernette 46" you may find some other opinions. One I read said not to buy one even if they were giving it away. And I am sure some have them and like them, but from what I read they are not as well made as Berninas and some other machines by other companies.
    Good luck!

  6. #6
    Super Member peaceandjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Finger Lakes of upstate NY
    Posts
    2,049
    Gramfel, can you refer me to the poor reviews you've seen - or to any? I have searched for reviews of the Bernette 46 (both google and yahoo) and haven't found them... Maybe I'm missing something?

    The Bernette 56 or 65, that came out in the mid 2000's (wow, that's wierd) definitely had tension issues. I'm not considering those, just this model that came out late last year.

  7. #7
    Junior Member SuzyM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    291
    I have a Bernette 82 and it can be tempermental. It has to be threaded just right and you have to be very careful when winding the bobbin. I always test the stitches before I start sewing on a scrap piece of fabric.

    The good thing about it is you can use standard needles and feet on the machine which saves you money.

    Would I buy another one, probably not but it does the job onces you figure out its little issues.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    36
    I just typed in "Reviews for Bernette 46" in the Yahoo search blank, and about halfway down the list of blue listings came 3 comments from people about this machine. The machine looks beautiful, but I would not trust it until I had read reviews from actual owners. Good Luck!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.