Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bernina bobbin tension >

Bernina bobbin tension

Bernina bobbin tension

Old 04-04-2015, 09:14 AM

Default Bernina bobbin tension

Hi Everyone -

I have had my 3 year old Bernina 350 serviced by two different Bernina dealers over the past three years.

One guy set the bobbin tension considerably looser than the other guy.

I went online and saw a test you can do to determine the correct bobbin tension where you hold the bobbin in the case and shake it a little and when you shake it, the bobbin will fall. With the tight setting I have now, it doesn't fall and it feels pretty tight. But the recent technician said this tight way is correct.

I use 50weight cotton thread and cotton fabric almost all the time, so I'm not ever changing tension on my own. But I don't think I know how to determine which of these tech guys did it right? Or are they both right?

I am not experienced enough to know if some of my quilts might have loose or tight stitches, and if so whether any of these stitches might not hold up over time in the quilts?

Can people help me to understand this topic a little better?

Thank you so much,

Lainey
Old 04-04-2015, 10:15 AM
Power Poster

I have an older Bernina 1260. I keep the tension loose. If I hold the bobbin by the thread it comes off by itself, not running loose but looser then having to shake it loose.
Old 04-04-2015, 11:17 AM

Originally Posted by lainealex View Post
Hi Everyone -

I have had my 3 year old Bernina 350 serviced by two different Bernina dealers over the past three years.

One guy set the bobbin tension considerably looser than the other guy.

I went online and saw a test you can do to determine the correct bobbin tension where you hold the bobbin in the case and shake it a little and when you shake it, the bobbin will fall. With the tight setting I have now, it doesn't fall and it feels pretty tight. But the recent technician said this tight way is correct.