Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bias + Sewing Question >

Bias + Sewing Question

Bias + Sewing Question

Old 06-13-2014, 11:28 AM

Default Bias + Sewing Question

I'm about to start sewing a patchwork square quilt with 6" squares. When I line up the squares together to sew, should I make sure the "stretchiness" is going the same way, or is that not really important? Or, if I do match them up, with it make the quilt stretch all one way? I've been looking at tutorials and not seeing this mentioned. Maybe it's something I shouldn't even worry about If it matters, I will be tying the quilt.

Thanks!
Old 06-13-2014, 11:36 AM

I have never given this a thought. I'm no expert but I cut my squares from strips cut WOF and then start sewing squares together.
Old 06-13-2014, 11:38 AM
Power Poster

I don't think with 6" blocks you will have any stretchiness. It is when you sew on the diagonally from the weave (45 degrees), that is where the bias is. I am sewing some 14" long diamonds which all 4 sides are on the bias so I am being very careful to make sure the bias side is down when stitch. Figure my friend would choose an old Kaffe pattern. Good Luck.
Old 06-13-2014, 12:24 PM

I think you can sew them together any way you want. Normal 100% quilting cotton just doesn't stretch that much when using squares to worry about it.
Old 06-13-2014, 12:33 PM

Thanks all! If I pull on the fabric I can definitely tell a difference but forgot that worrying about the bias refers to sewing diagonally (still new at this hah). Alright, off to get started!
Old 06-13-2014, 02:34 PM