Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Binding opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member wanttobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rochester, New Hampshire
    Posts
    820

    Binding opinions

    I am having my quilt quilted and binded by someone. They are using a bluish color for the quilting. Opinions on the binding color.
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image 

  2. #2
    Super Member Luv Quilts and Cats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,152
    My first thought when I saw the photo was use a red binding. Pick any of the reds in the quilt and I think it will look great. Hope this helps! Very nice quilt. The squares are so tiny!
    Luv Quilts and Cats
    Never underestimate the healing effects of beauty. - Florence Nightingale

  3. #3
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,049
    The blue/purple jumps out at me.
    That's a LOT of squares!!

  4. #4
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,291
    Audition some of the fabrics with it once it's quilted.
    Another possibility would be a scrappy binding, using an assortment from the quilt.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  5. #5
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grundy Co Illinois
    Posts
    5,050
    Nice postage stamp quilt!! Are those 1" finished squares?

    I presume that there is no border.

    If correct, I would bind in any of the darker colors.

    But wondering what is on the back as well. Since the front can take *any* binding, you might just want to match it to the back so they play together well.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  6. #6
    Senior Member wanttobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rochester, New Hampshire
    Posts
    820
    They are 2 1/2 inch squares. There isn't a border. The back will be muslin (spelling). They suggested red but I was thinking there was more burgundy then anything

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    17,082
    You could do most any colour because of all the colours in the top. For me it would depend on what colour the room was that I was putting it in. I notice more blue than other colours on my screen.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    1,785
    For me the light blue jumps out at me. Nice quilt. Careful with a muslin backing. Make sure the colors don't show through.
    Sue

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    S. Texas
    Posts
    1,108
    Blue jumps out at me too.

  10. #10
    Super Member Deborahlees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wine Country-Southern California
    Posts
    1,455
    I think the binding color should be whatever color YOU want to bring out....is it going to be a gift for some one....if so what colors do they prefer.....you could always go with black which would be a neutral....
    Yes that is a real picture of my hometown Temecula, California. We feature premiere Wineries, World Class Golf Courses, Pechanga Indian Casino and Hot Air Balloons

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.