Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: binding

  1. #1
    Super Member sewmuch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,461
    Anyone make binding strips the length of fabric instead of width? Nancy

  2. #2
    Carla P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    518
    I do it that way. To me it is easier, & less bulky when flipping it to the back.

  3. #3
    lin
    lin is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,053
    I use the longest length the fabric that I'm using affords me. If I don't have to piece too many of them together, all the better. :)

  4. #4
    Country Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,018
    I do....more often than not....its usually the length I am after also.

  5. #5
    Super Member sewmuch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,461
    Ok, thanks for the info girls. I am short on material have never done it this way, but am now. :D

  6. #6
    Suz
    Suz is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    1,073
    Since you are short on fabric, you could use all of the fabrics from the quilt top. Just stitch them together on an angle and it will look great. I would keep the pieces to no longer than 12-15" and then add the next one, mixing them up as you go.

    Suzanne


  7. #7
    Super Member sewmuch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,461
    Oh, good idea Suz, I never thought of that. Thanks. Nancy :D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.