Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Blocks and applique in pieces >

Blocks and applique in pieces

Blocks and applique in pieces

Old 01-14-2014, 06:09 AM

Default Blocks and applique in pieces

Someone gave me the entire set of Maggie Walker's Country Journal pattern pieces. I didn't realize until I picked these up from her that the fabric was also included, but it appears to be cut already. There is a reference in the directions that these came with the fabric on some kind of subscription basis, but i don't see on the Maggie Walker website that these are currently sold like this. I know these are vintage - they belonged to my friend's mother and she's been dead for at least 10 years. Unfortunately, that means there's nobody to ask that critical question "what did you do and where were you going with this?"

I'm fairly new to machine quilting, very new to applique. I'm thinking maybe I should set these aside until I get more experience. There are a lot of small pieces and just taking these out of the bags to try and figure things out s a bit overwhelming. I guess it's a good thing no sewing has been done - then I'd really be confused!
Old 01-14-2014, 06:17 AM

I found Country Journal on her design page. I wonder if you emailed them and asked to purchase the instructions? Or maybe someone on here has them. Here is the link to her design page.

http://www.maggiewalkerdesign.com/

Look on the left hand column about halfway down. Hope this helps!

ps...I just noticed there is a poster for sale. Maybe you could use the poster kind of like a puzzle box top? Love the quilt. Have fun!
Old 01-14-2014, 06:51 AM

Thanks for the suggestions, Beth. I guess I should've been more clear. All instructions and pictures are included, including assembling the final quilt. The only thing I don't have is the backing fabric - and that's easy to take care of.