Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bobbin threading >

Bobbin threading

Bobbin threading

Old 12-26-2015, 10:48 AM

Default Bobbin threading

Hi everyone! I'm new to quilting and just read about bringing the bobbin up when starting your sewing. Never heard or read this method. Next quilt I do I will reread this post to remind myself to do this. Thanks!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-27-2015 at 03:42 PM.
Old 12-26-2015, 10:58 AM
Power Poster

What happens occasionally is that the loose end of the bobbin thread will make a nest as the sewing machine is stitching. I often use a scrap of small fabric as a beginning and ending of sewing when piecing. Mostly, they are refereed to as enders. With quilting, I will start off the quilt so if one should appear, it will be gone when I trim the quilt. But I am very careful when I start quilting in the middle of the quilt because if you are not careful, that is when the nest will occur.

PS Welcome to the board!
Old 12-26-2015, 11:02 AM
Power Poster

I don't do this when piecing.
Old 12-26-2015, 06:50 PM

Ok - call me uneducated. I read the other referenced thread as well. I know about (and do) holding the tails of thread when piecing...typically don't use leaders/enders because my machine doesn't care. But how do you you get the bobbin thread to the top of your work in the middle of a quilt??? Not really an issue for me personally as I hand quilt, but just very curious as to the mechanics of the process.
Old 12-26-2015, 08:09 PM

Originally Posted by NJ Quilter View Post
Ok - call me uneducated. I read the other referenced thread as well. I know about (and do) holding the tails of thread when piecing...typically don't use leaders/enders because my machine doesn't care. But how do you you get the bobbin thread to the top of your work in the middle of a quilt??? Not really an issue for me personally as I hand quilt, but just very curious as to the mechanics of the process.