Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Border help/advice needed >

Border help/advice needed

Border help/advice needed

Old 02-15-2012, 09:09 AM

Default Border help/advice needed

Hello! With some trial and error, I just finished piecing a quilt top that ended up square in size and smaller than planned due to my measurement errors. All was not lost, however, but my blocks ended up being 5 inches, rather than 5-1/2. I need the finished quilt to be rectangular to fit on my queen bed, rather than the current square size. The pattern is kinda fussy and I can't just add more rows of the completed blocks. I need some suggestions for borders to enlarge this quilt. An additional 14 inches (7 plus 7) on two sides, and 28 inches (14 plus 14) on the other sides would be great, to match the size of the quilt already on my bed, which I know fits. The odd size is throwing me off and I'm not "seeing" the finished product. Appreciate any and all help since I'm new at this! :-)
Old 02-15-2012, 09:57 AM

Can you post a picture of what you have completed? Without a picture, I'm thinking I'd bands do of the quilt fabrics equal to 7" on each side of the quilt, then a one color or print 7" border all the way around. I would not use a plain fabric for the first add on (the two sides one). It will look like just - an add on. A pattern like stripes or something with HSTs or 4 patches will make it look more planned.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:29 AM
Power Poster

Yes, a picture is the only way to see what you have and comment on what might work to make it bigger.
Old 02-15-2012, 10:34 AM

I would like to see the picture of it before giving my 2 cents. I'll check back later.
Old 02-15-2012, 12:14 PM

Default Picture attached

Let me know what you think...
Attached Thumbnails 011.jpg  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:27 PM