Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
BORDER PHOBIA >

BORDER PHOBIA

BORDER PHOBIA

Old 06-14-2008, 04:09 PM

I'm making my very first quilt, which is a crib size baby quilt for a special friend. The top is pieced and I'm very pleased with the way it turned out. However, I haven't touched it in a week due to BORDER PHOBIA. Now, these are two simple non-pieced borders and for some reason I was terrified to cut into my fabric. I finally forced myself to get 'er done. I measured, re-measured, chickened out, measured again. Finally..I just cut. I just pinned the long sides of the first border to the top and it looks like it fits perfectly! I know that borders are critical and can make or break a quilt. I feel like I'm going out on a limb here having an inner and outer border on my first quilt. I would really appreciate any tips from the experts here before I go any further!

Old 06-14-2008, 04:24 PM

Cindy, I'm no expert . . .but after putting quilts together for 20 years or so, I recently read that the borders are critical, which I never knew.

So don't get yourself all worked up; borders usually come along just fine and your quilt will be beautiful!
Old 06-14-2008, 04:29 PM

Cindy, I'm certainly no expert either, however, I was taught to do the sides first then the top and bottom. See what others think.
Old 06-14-2008, 04:31 PM

I was taught to measure the middle and the two sides, average these numbers and cut the side borders, pin to fit.

Then measure the top middle and bottom, average and cut. pin to fit.
This eliminates the "floppy" borders.
Purple
Old 06-14-2008, 04:32 PM

You poor thing. Don't get stressed by the borders. I've cut them longer and squared everything after they've been sewn and pressed. I know that's not how it's done, but it works until you have that perfect measurement technique down. It all takes practice. You'll be a border pro in no time!
Old 06-14-2008, 05:22 PM