Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Border preference???

  1. #1
    Senior Member Kara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    746
    Personally, I LOOOOVVVVEEEE long, straight-of-grain borders. If there's a pieced border in there, I put on the inner border(s), then the pieced border, then the outer border(s).

    I remember when I thought they were hard. Then I tried them and instantly fell in the love with them.


  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    OR
    Posts
    297
    I like both. I've tried one, the solid, but am going to work on the other one.

  3. #3
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,465
    I, too, like to cut borders on the straight of grain. It keep the edges from "flouncing."

  4. #4
    Super Member Kyiav10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,349
    How do you do a border that is not pieced?? Do you have to buy yardage that is the length in which you need??

    Kyia

  5. #5
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,465
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyiav10
    How do you do a border that is not pieced?? Do you have to buy yardage that is the length in which you need??

    Kyia
    That's what I try to do. Depending on the method of cutting my pieces, I sometimes cut my borders before cutting across the WOF. It does take more fabric to cut borders that way, but you can always use what's leftover for another project -- right???

  6. #6
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,816
    Blog Entries
    3
    if you do that, and your binding fabric will also be used in your blocks or border(s) don't forget to cut your binding strips first. otherwise, you may accidentally start cutting your block pieces from one end of the fabric, and then discover you don't have enough for that solid strip binding.

    don't ask me how i know. :roll:

  7. #7
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,465
    Quote Originally Posted by PatriceJ
    if you do that, and your binding fabric will also be used in your blocks or border(s) don't forget to cut your binding strips first. otherwise, you may accidentally start cutting your block pieces from one end of the fabric, and then discover you don't have enough for that solid strip binding.

    don't ask me how i know. :roll:
    Yes Patrice, you're right about the binding. It is best to do that on the straight of grain also. I have gotten by with the binding cut on the WOF and spliced it as though I am piecing a bias piece. The seam is on the bias and doesn't show. If the border is on the straight, the crosswise grain of the binding is stable enough. Does that make sense or does it "sound like I have marbles in my mouth?" :lol:

  8. #8
    Senior Member Kara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyiav10
    How do you do a border that is not pieced?? Do you have to buy yardage that is the length in which you need??

    Kyia
    If I have a lot of strip piecing in the quilt, I don't cut off those borders first. I work with the width as is (so all my strips come out just about the same size - it would be nice if 45" wide meanth 45" wide...) and buy the extra yardage for the length of the border (plus a little fudge room). To me, it's not a waste, it's "stash enhancing". :D

  9. #9
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,758
    Blog Entries
    9
    I like them for smaller quilts...however..it costs me a FORTUNE to buy that much fabric for some of my well...large girls. I'm fine (usually) with piecing my borders.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Gulf Coast, FL
    Posts
    1,429
    Just last week I had squares that I sewed together to make long strips for a border and when I pressed the seams open - unless you're right on top of the seam you can't see the seams. I'd worried how "visiable" the seams would be but they weren't and I was using a solid, which I was certain was sure to want to show the most.

    I don't have a preference, I try to do whatever I think will look best on the quilt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.