Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Border yardage in eq7

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    at the foot of the Ouichita Mountains, SE Oklahoma
    Posts
    215

    Border yardage in eq7

    I am trying to determine how to cut my quilt out that was designed in EQ7. My question concerns how EQ7 calculates yardage.

    When I print-preview the quilt yardage it tells me that it is assumed that all long pieces ARE pieced.

    Does that mean that the borders will be cut width of fabric (and having to piece the strips togethether in order to get 4 strips for the top/bottom & right/left sides)?

    But the fabric-amount info seems to be including enough for me to cut it length of fabric (in other words, cut into 4 pieces).

    So I am confused on how to proceed. I worry that cutting my blocks 1st will make me not have enough material or if I cut borders first, I may not have enough.

    Can anyone tell me how the yardage is being figured for EQ7?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dray - SE Oklahoma

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    33,055
    Blog Entries
    16
    i have EQ5. it always tells me that LOF is allowed in the yardage. sometimes i cut off a chunk LOF wide enough for the 4 borders before I cut my blocks. IMO, yardage is one of the weak points for EQ.
    Nancy in western NY

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    at the foot of the Ouichita Mountains, SE Oklahoma
    Posts
    215
    I didn't know that about EQ5. When I used EQ6, it also said that LOF in the yardage. But in this version it says that long pieces are assumed to be pieced. The only long pieces in the whole quilt are the 4 borders..so I assumed they were to be pieced...which was a bummer. But then I started looking at how much fabric it was saying and it seemed to be giving enough to cut the borders LOF.

    This is for a grandchild's christmas present (8th grader) and I live 1 hour away from the store where the fabric was bought...so really worried about cutting it wrong.

  4. #4
    Super Member DianneK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Liberty, Pa
    Posts
    1,562
    I agree about the yardage...EQ is not capable of 'thinking'..so therefore everything is cut as a template with no 'thought as to wasting fabric!!
    May the scrap fairy visit your sewing room often

  5. #5
    Super Member Iamquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    1,759
    Blog Entries
    3
    I believe all EQ figures cutting the fabric LOF.

  6. #6
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,704
    Cutting LOF can be done even if the borders are pieced, so I think your issue is whether you will have continuous borders or pieced ones, not whether you're cutting LOF or WOF. If EQ says the long pieces will be pieced, it probably means that. It should be very easy for you to check to be sure. Is your fabric as long as the quilt's longest dimension (plus 1/2" for seam allowances)? If so, you can cut your borders in continuous pieces LOF before cutting your blocks. If not, you can't.

    I did a test case in EQ7. My quilt was 146.5" square including an 8" border (yeah, huge, I know, but it was just a test) and EQ told me that I needed 3 1/8 yards for the border. 3 1/8 yards is only 112.5", and that would not be enough for one continuous piece in LOF.

  7. #7
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grundy Co Illinois
    Posts
    5,219
    Agree with Dunster ... if the length of fabric that you have is equal to or greater than the yardage that EQ calls for ... then you should be able to cut the borders on LOF.

    You can also do some math of your own of your own to make sure have enough for blocks after you cut the borders.

    One way is to calculate the remaining total square yardage after cutting the borders from the LOF. Then calculate the total square yardage of the pieces you will need for the blocks.

    Or if it is strip pieced ... calculate the remaining WOF and LOF after cutting the borders then calculate the strips you will need from the remaining cloth.

    I typically use one of the above methods with most every quilt I make (or block if I'm making single blocks for a block swap). One reason is that I have never used a pattern straight out of the box. I either make my own, or change an existing pattern.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  8. #8
    Senior Member crafterrn1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    825
    I have used EQ since EQ4. Up until EQ7 all fabric yardage was figured on the LOF and it also figures yardage on a full square! That being said. If you have a quilt that has a final border that is 54 inches you need to have at least 58 inches for squaring up the length wise cuts! I would purchase 60 inches. I write my patterns based on WOF and piecing the borders. I do use LOF when I have enough fabric left. Then I always add to the scrap pile! Luann in CT
    Live Love and Laugh Enough!

  9. #9
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    6,280
    I usually diagram it before I cut. A quick paper and pencil sketch showing placement of pieces works for me.

  10. #10
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    15,300
    Quote Originally Posted by quiltsRfun View Post
    I usually diagram it before I cut. A quick paper and pencil sketch showing placement of pieces works for me.
    Seems like a good idea !

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.