Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Brother SQ 9000

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Tallmadge, OH
    Posts
    3,776
    O.K., I finally had a little time yesterday to play with my new toy. For the life of me, I can't figure out how to use the automatic needle threader. I became so frustrated, I ended up threading the needle by hand. I kept looking at the video, the illustrations, and still couldn't do it, unless by accident.

    Also, I broke two needles doing SID at seam intersections. I ended up having to turn the speed to the lowest. That's a pain in the neck, since these intersections are 3-4" apart and quilt is about 50 x 50. Do any of you who have this machine have this problem.

    Can you buy needles and bobbins at Wal*Mart, which is where I bought the machine, or do you have to go to a dealer?

    Thanks, everyone.

  2. #2
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,971
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a Brother XL2600 and have never been able to use the automatic needle threader either. Maybe it's a Brother issue.

  3. #3
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,484
    Blog Entries
    10
    I buy my bobbins from Walmart the ones from Brother . The needles I get from Joanns when they are 50% off

    Don't know what needle threader you have- but with mine I couldn't figure it out and then one day the lightbulb went on and it has been smooth sailing since - BUT I have found that it doesn't work with all needles -

  4. #4
    Senior Member crochetetc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    417
    I upgraded my machine a few years ago from an older brother to a newer one. If you can tell me what size bobbins you use, you are welcome to the packages of unopened ones I have tucked away if they fit. I might even have some new packages of needles.


    Just let me know..

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    7,898
    I can't help you with your problem, but I don't even use my needle threader, by the time I pull the threader down and do the thread, I can already have it threaded by the old fashioned way. LOL

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    513
    I also couldn't figure out the needle threader. You can buy the bobbins and needles anywhere - just check the bobbin size in the book.

  7. #7
    Senior Member quilter711's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    47
    I have the Brother SE-350. The pressure foot needs to be down when using the needle threader. The threader will hit the pressure foot if it is not down. My instruction booklet that came with the machine has picture of the bobbin that needs to be used in my machine. Please check the manual for yours. Let us know if you get the threader to work. Learning a new machine definitely has a learning curve.
    Nancy
    Quilter711

  8. #8
    Senior Member marilynr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    870
    I do not have a Brother machine, but when I first got my Babylock could not figure out how to thread it either at first. It just took placing the thread behind a tiny little
    "outcropping" piece just in front of the needle, before
    looping it through the last area to the left where I cut the thread. Probably makes no sense, right, but it was just a
    tiny thing I was missing & once I "got it" it was simple.
    Good luck.

    I had taken it back to the dealer 2x & they never bothered to show me EXACTLY how to do it, they would just auto-thread it to show me that it worked. LOL

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Tallmadge, OH
    Posts
    3,776
    Sharon, these are the needles that came with the machine, so I assume they should work. However, I only have one left now, so will have to get out to get some.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Tallmadge, OH
    Posts
    3,776
    Thanks, Sharon. What brand are the needles?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.