Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Building the stash from old clothes etc >

Building the stash from old clothes etc

Building the stash from old clothes etc

Old 07-08-2010, 02:36 AM

Since I am new to quilitng I don't have a huge amount a fabrics. After going mad and cleaning out the closet and chest of drawers I have a pile of old clothes (linen, cottons, natural fibre blends) that are not suitable for charity shops (ratty hems collars or cuffs) but have large amounts of good fabric. Also some old sheets/pillowcases. I am thinking of cutting these up (all buttons go in the buttonbox!) but should I leave the peices as large as possible or get out the rotary cutter and ruler and cut into squares or strips. Any suggestions as per size and any fabric you suggest not to bother with. Also, I though about clipping the manufacturers tag to the fabric so I know exactly what type it is and any special washing instructions.
Old 07-08-2010, 02:52 AM

I kinda like the way these shirts are cut up and used. I hope this link works.

http://thethriftyquilter.blogspot.co...e-thrifty.html

I don't precut my pillowcases and old sheets. I might need them big, so I keep them folded and waiting for the right project.
Old 07-08-2010, 03:07 AM

Great idea - that's what quilters did many, many years ago...they used old clothing or scraps from making new clothing. Fabric for quilting is a "new trend".

Check out Quiltville.com for lots of idea on quilting with scraps and old clothes. Bonnie says find a pattern/quilt you like, see what size the pieces are cut down to and cut your shirts to that size. That's what I'm doing with my shirt collection.

I've seen a quilt that incorporated the necklines/tags right into the quilt...it was cool. They included pockets (some with the flap and button still attached.
Old 07-08-2010, 03:19 AM

[quote=AllyJo]http://thethriftyquilter.blogspot.co...e-thrifty.html
quote]