Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Buying Ruler Assortment >

Buying Ruler Assortment

Buying Ruler Assortment

Old 10-17-2014, 03:05 AM

Default Buying Ruler Assortment

As you probably realize, I am a novice quilter and my tool array is quite small. While I am not quite ready to buy yet, I am wondering what basic rulers ought I to get. I don't necessarily mean which brands but more what shapes of rulers should I look for to own a decent, simple assortment of hard-working, and hopefully multi-tasking, rulers? The ones to make it an easier task to cut your everyday shapes. I don't feel as though I must have every specialty ruler out there, just the basics, please. What shapes can you just not do without?
Old 10-17-2014, 03:09 AM

My first rulers 6 x 12 and 6 x 24. I use both all of the time. Buy rulers as you go along for specific projects ad techniques. Creative Grids have the built-in grippers to prevent slipping on the fabric.

sady
Old 10-17-2014, 03:16 AM

A 6"x24", I would consider a 'must', or even better, 6.5"x24" as well as some square rulers. I have them from 2.5" to 12.5" and use them all the time for squaring blocks. Another ruler that I use a lot is my 6"x12" - I bought this cheap and am surprised at how much I actually use it for small cutting jobs, trimming, taking to class etc.

I have one triangle that I've finally figured out how to use, lol, but can't say it was an investment. One thing that was an investment however, is the June Tailor Shape cut. I use it all the time. In fact, I had DH hand carry it back from Houston to the UK for me as it wouldn't fit in his case!
Old 10-17-2014, 03:20 AM

I love my square up rulers, especially the 6 1/2 inch one and the 12 1/2 inch. I have a 3 x 6 and a 3 x 12 I use all the time for general trimming.

I use my coupons and buy my rulers at Joan's or Hancock Fabrics most of the time. I have paid retail for very few of my rulers.
Old 10-17-2014, 03:27 AM