Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Can this work.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Van. Island, BC winters in Yuma
    Posts
    848
    Blog Entries
    1

    Can this work.

    My friend showed me her scrappy quilt with scrappy binding. Now I want to try a scrappy binding on my scrappy blue(s) quilt. Alas I'm short of enough different prints to get a good variety. I do have lots of blue(s) 2 inch wide noodles. about 18-20 inches long. I'm think of adding ( my on going quest to use my stash) a strip of plain muslim & cutting 2 1/2 strips to get my width. Once the binding is sewn onto quilt the muslim will never be seen. Talk me out of doing this. LOL.
    True4uca

  2. #2
    Senior Member Patti25314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    threading a needle or pulling a weed
    Posts
    483
    I like to use 2" strips to make my bindings. Why do you need 2.5"?

  3. #3
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,841
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm confused about the muslin I have made a scrappy binding before and I used strips cut from FQs so the strips were 2" X 22" long, some shorter. I just pieced them together to make a binding strip the length that I needed and then just bound the quilt like I would any other time.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Van. Island, BC winters in Yuma
    Posts
    848
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Patti25314 View Post
    I like to use 2" strips to make my bindings. Why do you need 2.5"?
    I've only ever used 2.5 inch strips for binding. I'm wanting to use my 2 inch strips by adding a strip of muslim to make my 2 inch strips 2.5 inches wide. When I sew it to the front of my quilt & fold to the back the muslim will not be seen
    True4uca

  5. #5
    Super Member M.I.Late's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    2,321
    I have absolutely made binding with a little seam in it so I could stretch out the fabric more. I use a wide binding though. If you do add two strips together to make the binding be sure the seam will not end up on the outside anywhere. I can usually go about 1/3 to 2/3 and sew it to the quilt with the seam facing me. Then when I fold it over, it's well hidden and inside the fold. Hope that makes sense. I just had to do it in order to stretch out my binding material to have enough. You know what they say: "Necessity is the mother of invention" . (And it did work beautifully)

  6. #6
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,841
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by true4uca View Post
    I've only ever used 2.5 inch strips for binding. I'm wanting to use my 2 inch strips by adding a strip of muslim to make my 2 inch strips 2.5 inches wide. When I sew it to the front of my quilt & fold to the back the muslim will not be seen
    If you use 2" strips and sew muslin to them, won't you lose another 1/2" off the 2" strip? So in essence you will have a 1 1/2" strip with muslin strips sewed to each side?
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,943
    I understand what you mean and you might want to take a look at Charismah's QB tutorial on Quick machine binding with flange. It uses 2 strips to add a liitle extra pizzazz to an all machine binding. One strip of binding is cut 1 and 3/8 and the other is cut 1 and 5/8 and you sew them together. You would be doing something similar on your blue with muslin binding.

  8. #8
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    12,887
    Blog Entries
    2
    Tartan has it right. at least that is what I did to do two color binding. good luck.
    http://www.thequiltshow.com/os/blog.php/blog_id/3902

  9. #9
    Senior Member Tashana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    798
    Tartan is right, I was just about to suggest the same thing. I have never tried it myself but it looks really interesting.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    I understand what you mean and you might want to take a look at Charismah's QB tutorial on Quick machine binding with flange. It uses 2 strips to add a liitle extra pizzazz to an all machine binding. One strip of binding is cut 1 and 3/8 and the other is cut 1 and 5/8 and you sew them together. You would be doing something similar on your blue with muslin binding.
    I've got a smile on my face, I've got four walls around me
    The sun in the sky, the water surrounds me
    I'll win now but sometimes I'll lose
    I've been battered, but I'll never bruise

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Van. Island, BC winters in Yuma
    Posts
    848
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by M.I.Late View Post
    I have absolutely made binding with a little seam in it so I could stretch out the fabric more. I use a wide binding though. If you do add two strips together to make the binding be sure the seam will not end up on the outside anywhere. I can usually go about 1/3 to 2/3 and sew it to the quilt with the seam facing me. Then when I fold it over, it's well hidden and inside the fold. Hope that makes sense. I just had to do it in order to stretch out my binding material to have enough. You know what they say: "Necessity is the mother of invention" . (And it did work beautifully)
    M.I.Late, this is what I'm trying to do. Glad to know it works. It seemed too simple an answer to me so I was sure there had to be another more complicated way.LOL.
    True4uca

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.