Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 76

Thread: Can you say Dumb A**

  1. #11
    Super Member sewmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Midland, Michigan
    Posts
    1,872
    when i got my new Janome 6600 and i was trying to do a serpentine stitch-it would sew a stitch or two and then sew in place. I had tried this stitch when i got it b/c it was one of the reasons i wanted this machine. well it turns out i had the wrong throat plate on the machine. i had forgotten that there was two plates. DUH!!! I even took it back to the dealer and she set it up and looked at it and told me i had the wrong plate. i was so embarrassed.

  2. #12
    community benefactor Conniequilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    893
    lol--that is sooooooooooooo me!

  3. #13
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,524
    Quote Originally Posted by featherweight
    I bet we won't make the same mistake twice!!!
    I'm afraid you'd lose that bet. :oops:

  4. #14
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    I threaded my Pfaff wrong the other day. I've been using if for a year so how did I forget how to do it. Just a senior moment I guess. At least the machine got a good cleaning out of it.

  5. #15
    Super Member Chasing Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    6,085
    Same issue with my embroidery machine. I was ready to send it in and be charged $124.00 to fix the tension. I found a tiny piece of lint stuck in the bobbin case.

  6. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    6,233
    Quote Originally Posted by amandasgramma
    ROL!!! Yip --- been there, done that!
    I had to take mine in for 'repair' to discover my screwup. (Here I would insert the little, red-faced, smiley face, if I knew how.)

  7. #17
    Super Member jemma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    adelaide /australia
    Posts
    1,391
    my pfaff would only sew a few stitches--did the full bit needle change de fluff etc then noticed i had the single pattern button on --yep we have all been there

  8. #18
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,700
    At least when this happens we have to take time to clean them. Guess that is there way of saying "Hey I need cleaned up and out!!!"

  9. #19
    Super Member CorgiNole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Posts
    1,052
    It took me quite a lot of snarled and broken thread to figure out that to correctly mount the bobbin in my "new to me" Bernina, I needed to open the little latch. Not sure how I got it to work correctly the first two or three times I changed the bobbin.

    I later had a moment of heart failure when it would not advance the fabric at all - checked that I didn't have it set to wind bobbins, moved the feed dogs up and down, dismantled and re-cleaned... then remembered that I had set the stitch length to 0 in order to end a seam. DUH. Runs great now!

    Cheers, K

  10. #20
    Senior Member mama's place's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Greenville, Alabama
    Posts
    503
    We shouldn't feel so bad that we have to take them to the dealers for our flubups...without us they wouldn't have jobs!!!! LOL

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.