Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: changing the blade in a rotary cutter

I am fairly new to this, and I want to know if I am supposed to wipe off the oil on the new blade when I am changing from a dull blade in my rotary cutter?

I don't remember there being an excess of oil the first time I changed the blade. This is the second blade I have put in, and maybe my memory is just bad?

Thanks for any help I can get.

I wipe the oil off very carefully, then after I get the new blade installed I run it through some batting scraps to remove any remaining oil since I wouldn't want the oil to get onto my fabrics. (:

k3n
    Blog Entries
    I do the same as Connie - just a tip, don't know if you knew, if you turn a dull blade over an put it back in, you can use it for a while longer.

I wipe the oil off, too, so it doesn't get on the fabric. I am going to have to try turning over the blade.

Did you know if you are left handed the blade goes on the opposite side of the rotary cutter? As a lefty, I didn't know this for the first couple of years I quilted.

I think the oil is to protect the blades in the packaging. I always CAREFULLY wipe the oil off. Yikes those new blades are sharp!!!

Ditter

k3n
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Quiltsbybarb
    I wipe the oil off, too, so it doesn't get on the fabric. I am going to have to try turning over the blade.

Did you know if you are left handed the blade goes on the opposite side of the rotary cutter? As a lefty, I didn't know this for the first couple of years I quilted.
    I have a Clover and it has an L and an R on either side, apparently not all brands do that! :lol:

Thanks for the tips, I didn't know this!