Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Color saver for old quilt >

Color saver for old quilt

Color saver for old quilt

Old 03-06-2015, 11:49 AM

Default Color saver for old quilt

Yes, I see that this is supposed to be "non-quilting talk), but I can't figure out a better place to ask my question:

I have recently acquired an OLD patchwork quilt of questionable age (40+ years is my own guess), that is put together by hand; even appears to be paper-pieced in hexagons and strips. My questions concerns the red joining pieces (small, and many of them) seems to be fading into the adjoining squares of all different shades of beige/white, blue, brown; it is (or will be a gorgeous quilt when finished); but what do I do about the fading? And wash it before handling? Or do all the handling, then wash it? Of course it is smelly, ratty, you guess at it????

And, I am not good at hand-work, so should I go ahead and consider machine piecing repairs, and machine quilting to finish it? I know, show us a picture.....but my grandkids live 15 miles away, and their mama won't let them get out on our roads right now.
Old 03-06-2015, 11:56 AM
Power Poster

This is tough without a picture. Is it a finished quilt or just a top?? I wouldn't wash the top before getting it quilted first otherwise someone previously posted a photo of what happen when she wash a quilt top,. It became a messy rat's nest.
Old 03-06-2015, 12:23 PM
Power Poster

By the red "fading into the adjoining squares", do you mean that the red dye is bleeding into the other fabrics? Also, is this a finished quilt -- meaning it has been quilted? How much repair do you need to do?

If the quilt is finished -- meaning quilted and bound, then it is safe to wash it before handling. However, you need to wash it in a certain way. I can explain how I would do it, but I want to be sure that what I am understanding so far is correct.
Old 03-06-2015, 12:33 PM
Power Poster