Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
curious >

curious

curious

Old 02-25-2008, 07:46 AM

Okay I am curious about paper piecing. I tried to find a thread that explained it in detail but missed it. What exactly is it? Would this make them points easier for me.... :-) Just thought I would ask on here before I go doing a search on the net. I seem to understand everyones instructions on here best.

Thanks for anyone who responds. Remember I am still a newbie slowly venturing out.....lol
Old 02-25-2008, 07:57 AM
nel

A quilt block on paper is used to make the block. You actually sew according to the numbers labelled on the block. Start with !,2, etc. That way you sew by number. Place#1 piece of fabric wrong side down on back side of printed block. You have to hold up to the light to make sure it covers the section. Place # 2 wrong side up ( make sure it is large enough to cover space #2 and flip over and sew through the paper and the 2 pieces of fabric on the first line. Move from # 1 til the last number on the block. I trim seam allowances to a quarter inch after sewing each piece and iron each piece after sewing. When you are done, the finished block will appear right side up on the back of the paper. Then, carefully teasr away the paper from the block.
Old 02-25-2008, 08:32 AM

Is there a pro or con to doing this than just doing the normal way? I am lost.
Old 02-25-2008, 08:38 AM
bj