Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Cutting "length" of fabric

  1. #1
    2wheelwoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    879
    I just saw the posting on whether the binding can be cut on the length of the fabric, and decided it was time to ask my 'dumb' question. How do y'all do that? Do you fold the fabric into several folds and then cut through them all? Or do you keep sliding the fabric and cutting a little at a time? Being a self-taught quilter for the most part - this is a piece of info I've never gotten. I've just been cutting on the width and piecing it, but I now have some gorgous striped fabric I want to use for long borders and have been afraid of cutting into it. When I fold and cut for the width, I'm apt to end up with a "curve" in the strip, and I don't want that to happen on my nice (read: expensive) fabric. Cutting is the scariest part of quilting for me, since I don't feel good at it.

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a 24" piece of countertop material that I use to cut my long lenthwise pieces with. I butt it up to my ruler to measure the strips. I am going to have a 36" one cut next :wink:

  3. #3
    Super Member burnsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,563
    Blog Entries
    2
    I know many quilters frown on it, but I rip when I want to use the length of the fabric.

  4. #4
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,491
    Blog Entries
    1
    For striped fabric borders, I would cut along the stripes to keep them even. Not conventional, but......

  5. #5
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    For striped fabric borders, I would cut along the stripes to keep them even. Not conventional, but......
    I can see how that would work. It's most likely what I would do too.

  6. #6
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    12,882
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have ripped some but that is such a tangled mess that I went to the sliding method. I use a long ruler but never cut clear to the end for fear of the weight of the fabric pulling the cut line. Usually, I put my ironing board at the end of the table to catch the rest of the fabric.

  7. #7
    Super Member clem55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington,Kentucky
    Posts
    6,152
    Blog Entries
    6
    Whenever I need to have long strips of fabric, I never cut. Just tear the strips. Make that little nic k at the top edge, and pull apart. You will need to press, and will have some loose threads, but this is fast and accurate.

  8. #8
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    I want the give in my binding from cutting selvage to selvage.
    2wheelwoman, the "bump" is from your fabric not being folded straight. I always check each strip and if I have a bump, I refold it; sometimes I have had to repress it. When you have two folds together run you fingers over the fold if you feel two fold lines refold it, you should only feel one fold line

  9. #9
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,366
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    For striped fabric borders, I would cut along the stripes to keep them even. Not conventional, but......
    Ditto

  10. #10
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    23,760
    When using a stripe fabric I would do it the way Prism99 said and cut it on a stripe. Cutting with a rotary cutter will not keep the stripe even. Takes more time but, you will be much happier with the results.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.