Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
D9P question >

D9P question

D9P question

Old 11-03-2014, 09:35 AM

Default D9P question

I hope I word this correctly! I want to make a back for a quilt in D9P using 3 fabrics. I am considering making the starting blocks pretty large and just using 9 blocks. Would this look right? I am a beginner when it comes to larger quilts. The fabrics are Ford, Ford Mustangs and another Ford Mustang design. The front is a Ford Mustang panel and various colors of rectangles that are in the panel. My hubby loved the panel. By the time I managed to get the front sewed together it is close, if not, queen size. So that is the size I will need the back to be. He doesn't want a boring quilt back. LOL!
Thanks, love this site for advice.
Old 11-03-2014, 10:02 AM

Just remember that on a D9P the corner blocks remain whole (uncut) while the center block will be 1/4 of its original size and the other blocks will be cut in half. If it was my quilt, I would put the fabrics I want to show off in the corners and a plain color in the center; then cut the blocks for your D9P blocks. I look forward to seeing your finished quilt.
Old 11-03-2014, 03:38 PM

I had thought about a large D9P for mine, but never did. I tend to do mine in various width strips or extra blocks, depending on what I have for leftovers. Here are some ideas for quilt backs..I started this post a few years ago. One of these days I should update it. I'm sure I've got several more pics I could add.

http://www.quiltingboard.com/picture...s-t148395.html

Also, there is a a free Craftsy class called Creative Quilt Backs that might be a good resource for you. I usually sketch mine out or play around in PowerPoint to get an idea of what I can do with my fabrics.
Old 11-04-2014, 08:29 AM