Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Denim Rag Quilt

  1. #1
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,508
    Blog Entries
    2
    Do I need a batting layer when I'm using denim to make a rag quilt?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Super Member nwm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    5,313
    Hope you get an answer soon as i know there were a couple doing denim quilts that could help you with that question as I'm interested to know too.

  3. #3
    BMP
    BMP is offline
    Super Member BMP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,502
    Blog Entries
    4
    Flannel works well

  4. #4
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,508
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by BMP
    Flannel works well
    Do I have to use a layer between, since denim is so heavy? Or is preference?

  5. #5
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,589
    It's preference. It will depend on if you want a warmer quilt or not.

  6. #6
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Festus, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,552
    Preference.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    180
    I've made a denim rag quilt with denim and flannel...believe me it was warm and heavy. I would shorten your stitch length. I left mine normal and some of the seams are coming apart, but that could be that it is well-used by my son.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dungeonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    984
    You don't have to have a layer between. I have made them with just two layers of good flannel.

  9. #9
    kso
    kso is offline
    Senior Member kso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    797
    I use the denim as a foundation piece in my rag quilts, so I have the strips pieced to the denim. Other than those 2 layers, I don't put anything into my denim rag quilts.

  10. #10
    Super Member Flying_V_Goddess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,722
    I used a layer of batting when I did my denim quilt. It was a bit on the heavier side and it was nice and warm. If you do put a layer of batting lengthen your stitch a little. I was told to lengthen my stitch before I quilted anything because I was going through denim, batting, and flannel and a regular stitch would have been very difficult to do with all those thick layers

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.