Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Densely quilted..after washing?

Densely quilted..after washing?

I am totally new to longarm quilting (still in my meandering stage). I have seen some BEAUTIFUL custom quilting (quilted very densely) but I have been wondering, what do these quilts look like after washing? Or are they intended to never be washed? After washing, can you still see the quilting designs? I would love to see a picture of a densely quilted quilt that has been washed.

Thanks
    Kim

Densely Quilted - after washing?

Not sure if this is dense enough for you but I did a lot of quilting especially in the squares on this T-shirt quilt that ended up being a queen size when done. I used a low-loft cotton batting and tried to do quilting in every square. I washed it already and it came out very soft and actually more puffy and cuddley. I would expect even densely quilted quilts would be more soft and cuddley after washing as well. I suppose it does depend on what the actual intentions are for the quilt. If it's meant to be a wall hanging then I would expect to press the quilt on the back after washing just to give it a very finished look. Otherwise, I would want it to look 'loved' and used.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Yes, they still look great after washing, sometimes even better than before.

Yes... dense quilting looks fine after washing. I find that it helps the over all life expectancy!