Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Denyse Schmidt patterns >

Denyse Schmidt patterns

Denyse Schmidt patterns

Old 04-08-2016, 06:36 AM

Default Denyse Schmidt patterns

Hi. I am new to quilting and am really drawn to Denyse Schmidt's "A Different Stripe" pattern.

http://www.dsquilts.com/fabric_and_p...asp?PageID=361

I recently purchased another artist's quilting pattern, and was really disappointed with the vagueness of the instructions, so I'm cautious.

Does anyone have experience with her patterns? Are the instructions detailed and walk you through all the steps in piecing, etc?

Thanks, Cindy
Old 04-08-2016, 06:51 AM

I have not used her patterns but looking at the photo of the quilt you are interested in making, it looks quite straight forward. The stripes are cut at varying widths and some are cut a little 'wonky' to give more interest. Then the blocks would be squared up and sashing would be added. Even her description states that this pattern lets you use your own creativity when constructing the blocks.

Before paying $15+ I think I would try to make a sample block of my own, using scraps.
Old 04-08-2016, 07:41 AM

Someone new to quilting might not know enough to try making a sample block without instructions.

I have one Denyse Schmidt pattern that I haven't used yet. Opening it up, I see it's in the form of a little book, and it seems to be very thorough. Can you give an example of the sort of thing you found vague in the other pattern?
Old 04-08-2016, 08:31 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 04-08-2016, 08:31 AM
Power Poster

I am not familiar with her patterns but when I was beginning, I did some EB Quilt in a Day patterns. She is excellent with her instructions. Welcome to the board!
Old 04-08-2016, 08:57 AM

Welcome from Alabama. Sorry, I can't help with the pattern.
Old 04-08-2016, 12:46 PM

Location: NY Adirondacks in Summer and goes "South" to WNY in the winter!